Adjust Font Size   
Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship
The Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship Recipients

The Lee Kuan Yew (LKY) Scholarship is synonymous with both prestige and a willingness to serve Singapore. It marks Singapore's continuous effort to recognise outstanding individuals with the aptitude and inclination to contribute to our society.

With contributions from the public, the LKY Scholarship Fund was set up in 1991 in honour of Mr Lee Kuan Yew. Click here for more information on the LKY Scholarship Fund, which is also a registered charity.


Singaporeans who meet the following criteria:

  • Excellent track record of leadership and service, within or beyond their profession; and
  • Outstanding academic achievements, including at least a Second Class Upper Honours or equivalent Degree. Candidates who do not meet this academic requirement but have strong compensating factors will also be considered.
Terms and Conditions

Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship recipients can pursue either a Masters or PhD programme at a local or overseas university. There is no restriction on the course of study.

This scholarship does not carry any bond. Scholarship recipients will receive a one-off sum of S$10,000, and an annual allowance of:

  • S$50,000 for private sector awardees; or
  • S$10,000 for public sector awardees, if they are concurrently sponsored by their organisations.
Method of Application

The 2014 LKY Scholarship application has closed on 13 December 2013. Application for the 2015 LKY Scholarship will commence in November 2014.

Shortlisted applicants will be required to sit for psychometric tests in January and February 2014. Applicants will be notified of the outcome of their applications by March 2014. Interviews will be held in April 2014.

For enquiries, please refer to the FAQs found here or send your questions to